To prevent spam users, you can only post on this forum after registration, which is by invitation. If you want to post on the forum, please send me a mail (h DOT m DOT w DOT verbeek AT tue DOT nl) and I'll send you an invitation in return for an account.

Prom 6: import files

fatcat
edited February 2011 in - Development
Hi,

my name is Stefan and I'm a student in informatics. For my bachelor thesis i've to develop a plugin for Prom. My problem is, that I need a way to import config files, which are "normal" xml files. Is there a way to do this? Should I write a importplugin? 

Greets
Stefan

Comments

• Hi Stefan,

There is no "generic" way to do this (as the semantics of your XML file is not known). However, you have three options to fulfill your requirements
    (i) create an import plugin in ProMImport to generate an MXML file that can be used in ProM6.0
    (ii) create an import plugin in ProM 6.0 and generate an object that your analysis plugin in ProM 6 can handle
    (iii) translate the XML contents into a database and use XESame to create an XES file

Hope this helps.

Best Regards,
    JC
  • Wiebe
    edited February 2011
    Hi Stefan, I recently did what you are asking and opted for the second
    method JC has suggested.

In case you go this path too and you need an example of an import
    pluging for importing a self-defined XML file in ProM 6.0, you can look
    at the way MXML and XES logs are imported, in the Log package:

Packages\Log\Trunk\src\org\processmining\plugins\log\OpenLogFilePlugin.java

This uses the OpenXES-1.5 library, parsing is done through SAX in this
    case. For me this was a good example.
    http://www.xes-standard.org/openxes/download

Also make sure you have looked here:
    https://svn.win.tue.nl/trac/prom
    https://svn.win.tue.nl/trac/prom/wiki/GettingStarted

Hope this helps too. Good luck.

Regards,
    Wiebe

• Hi,