To prevent spam users, you can only post on this forum after registration, which is by invitation. If you want to post on the forum, please send me a mail (h DOT m DOT w DOT verbeek AT tue DOT nl) and I'll send you an invitation in return for an account.

New user - Animations & logs problem

wo7777
edited August 2023 in Process Mining

Hi

I'm trying to get started with ProM but cant progess very far - I am total beginner and have used bupaR but ProM is very different.

I want to do 2 things :

(1) Convert a CSV file to XES file

(2) Produce an animation of the process from the newly converted XES file.

So the csv file is very simple - we have 2 events for case-7777 AB & AC that occur , each with a start and end time :

case_number,handling,handling_id,start_time,end_time

case-7777,AB,approved2,2021-12-06 07:00:00,2021-12-06 08:00:00

case-7777,AC,approved3,2021-12-06 09:00:00,2021-12-06 10:00:00

Firstly , can I use this format ( above ) to produce an XES file that will work?

All I want to do is show each of these 2 events animated so you can see the token move left to right on the screen. Pretty simple.

I was concerned that I might need to change the CSV file format internally to get it to work, possibly with the start and end times on different lines? I am not sure.

We have a HUGE number of csv files in this format we want to put through ProM but until I can work out what I need to do with the formatting to get it to work , I cant use ProM.

Any help appreciated.

Thanks.

Comments

• Hi,

You can import such a CSV file into ProM, and then use the Convert CSV to XES plugin to create an event log from it. For the configuration of this plugin, you could use the following:

• Case column: case_number (press the "+" button to the right to select this column.
    • Event column: handling_id (dito)
    • Start TIme: start_time (please check the date format below, but I guess it will be okay)
    • End Time: end_time (dito)