To prevent spam users, you can only post on this forum after registration, which is by invitation. If you want to post on the forum, please send me a mail (h DOT m DOT w DOT verbeek AT tue DOT nl) and I'll send you an invitation in return for an account.

Application of process mining in software testing

Hi,

My current research involves in using the ProM results as a base to create the model for software testing. I am trying to convert the design oriented ProM result into a more structure oriented result like csv or json which can then be easily converted to a software test model. I do understand that such conversions are not available currently. Since my knowledge in java is very limited I aim to build this outside of ProM. But would definitely appreciate any help in understanding the workings of ProM. I am very new to the field of process mining and it is nearly impossible to gain the required knowledge from literature as the thesis period is just 3 months.

My first step is to arrive at a good model from ProM. So far I have used the GUI of proM 6.7 for this.  I am hoping to generate models with 3 plugins - Alpha, Heuristic and ETM. Also, I am using the convert to XES plugin for the conversion of my csv log. 

When I try using Alpha miner on the converted XES log, miner runs without error, but visualization throws an error,

Start plug-in @0 Visualize Petri net
-------- The following exception was logged by the framework:
         The exception was probalby handled properly.
java.util.concurrent.ExecutionException: java.lang.reflect.InvocationTargetException

I am not sure how to proceed as I am new to ProM and Java. Any help or guidance would be deeply appreciated.

Thanks & Regards,
Aswathy

Comments

• Dear Aswathy,

This sounds like a bug, but to be sure we need to reproduce it. Can you share your csv log with us, and tell us which steps you took to get to the error? Which plug-ins did you run in which order with which parameters?